sábado, 3 de novembro de 2012

LAWLESS

Lawless - http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1212450/


Hi everybody,
So today I'm going to try to make it short. The movie was what I expected: it's ok, but it could be a lot better.

The story is about three brothers that are moonshine producers, during the prohibition era, they are the only ones that refuse to pay a corrupt politician his cut on their business, so his enforcer a Special Agent starts a undercover war that later evolves to a full out war. That's basically it.

The first brother is a coward, and has to be more of a man, the second is kind of a boss, he is somewhat smart and the type of guy that does what it takes to get what he wants, the third one is kind of a tone-down version of the second on, but with a drinking problem. Then you have the Special Agent that is kind of a disturbed, think-he-knows-all kind of guy. In the movie it's mentioned several time that the brothers are immortals (not in a strait sense of the word but like their are hard to kill)

There are several things that I think could be improved, here they go:
- I think the movie lacks a little rawness it's hard to explain and I don't know if the problem is in the direction or in the writing, but I felt I was in two movies and maybe a little toughness would be good.
- So, Gary Oldman is in this one. Why the fack didn't he show up more, I'm a big fan but his character doesn't make much sense he could be completely written of the movie.
- The Special Agent, well this one really facked me up, every one that watches Boardwalk Empire, has seen this character except this one is a bleed shitty version of Agent Nelson. For me these character was the worst one of the movie, I like Guy Pearce but he was given shit on this one.
- The part where they talk about the brothers being immortal, didn't work, that should have came up in the start of the movie, that is only mentioned in the second part. For people to believe that he could survive so many things you have to mention it and to make a big deal out of it.
- The part that really facks me up is the narration, every time you have a narrator he has to be there for a reason, so I wondered why is he there? he isn't necessary, I need you to SHOW ME what is happening NOT TELL ME. If I want someone to tell me a story I will read a book, where the author can write what the character is thinking and explain thinks in a movie that doesn't work.

To end this one, It could have been good but it was just ok, It's not a bad one but is nowhere near being one to remember. The most fun I had was when the Special Agent had a couple of balls gift-wrapped and dropped on his doormat (well it was funny)

Just awful    - O
Not for me - O
1 time only - X
Good         - O
Brilliant       - O

Next weak Twilight - Breaking Dawn 2... I'm kidding, but I saw the trailer tonight and now the vampires have superpowers like the X-men so maybe if you are a hardcore comic-book fan you should give it a try... just sayin'...

The next one will probably be Argo but maybe I'll have a new post before about something else.

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário