segunda-feira, 31 de dezembro de 2012
End of Watch
End of Watch - http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1855199/
Hi,
This one is not that recent but I wanted to write about it, because it's not a by the rules movie, not that that is good or bad.
So what is this movie about, to me is more of a documentary then anything else, it's a almost two hour essay on being a policeman on a gang/cartel world that has it's on particular rules. We get the opportunity to get inside the mind of two policemen and see how they experience their work and their personal lives, and it does exactly that.
It has 2 great actors the director is good but what I like to really get my teeth in the the story, so here I go.
Starting by the trailer, that is what people usually see so they can decide if they want so see this or that movie, I felt cheated the trailer show a totally different movie, not that it's worst but that feeling of being tricked really twists the way we experience the movie.
So the things I didn't like, I has expecting a more strait storytelling, something that compels me to keep watching it, for the first hour it was just a bunch of cases that had nothing to do with each other, most of the scenes don't ad nothing to the main plot. Scenes like when they find the kids tied up with duct tape. It really doesn't add much, ok it's good drama but in terms of story structure it's badly done.
Something that really bugs me is when we sense a death in the start of the movie, it really leaves me with a bad taste in my mouth. Around the minute 15 I knew one of them wouldn't make it to the end I admit I thought it was the other one but it is still very predictable.
The movie has some good things going on but I felt the story needed to be a little worked on, It's nothing really new and for sure it wont be a classic or a movie to be remembered but it still entertains and is better than 90% of all the shit that comes to the silver-screen but still the good director and acting doesn't excuse the lack of clarity and intent on the script.
So I saw it about a month ago and I was going threw my notes and felt like writing, just because I hadn't wrote nothing in here in more than a week. If it was a little fresher in my head i would probably write a little more.
Just awful - O
Not for me - O
1 time only - X
Good -O
Brilliant - O
One thing that I wanted to point out, this is a organizational movie, let me explain, it's like the godfather we see how a organization works in the Godfather was the mafia and in this one is the Police, normally we see this by watching the new guy entering the structure of the organization, in the godfather was by watching Michael in this one is by using the camera as a way to explain thing nothing new that hasn't been done in other ones, well this was my nugget of knowledge for today, read me next time...
Subscrever:
Enviar feedback (Atom)
Sem comentários:
Enviar um comentário